A child’s wisdom

The other day as I was meditating I had a spiritual visitor arrive desperate to give me a message.  This wasn’t a lost soul, entity or angel as such.  It was me when I was a child.  She made it very clear to me that my life was out of balance and I needed to have some fun.

On reflection I have to admit that life has become very serious, partly due to being busy and focusing on managing my time as best I can.  I’ve really been operating on
auto-pilot to get things done but, somewhere along the way I had stopped living in a full and satisfying way.  And I’m sure I’m not the only one.  For me,
little Jackie decided to step in and give me a kick and her method is so much more effective than somebody just telling me to go and have some fun.

When we’re born our hearts are open and the possibilities for our life are endless.  However, as time goes by these possibilities seem to get hidden, swamped or discarded.  Responsibilities weigh us down and, for many of us, living becomes something that needs to be done to get through each day.

As a young child I expected to be loved.  I expected to be considered as much as anybody else.  I was curious and wanted to do things that I liked and that were fun.

I was lucky, coming from a stable and what could be termed a ‘normal’ family.  But very young children before they have learnt about the world and the circumstances they’ve been born into , have similar expectations.

As an adult trying to make my way in the world these expectations have gradually eroded but, what I realise now is how much I miss them and how influential they are on the quality of my life and on other people’s perceptions of me.

Now it’s time to bring those expectations back.   When I’m in a situation where everything becomes too stressed or serious I ask my seven year old self how she would handle it.  Let me give you an example.  I had a very busy week where it seemed nearly impossible that I was going to do everything I had agreed to do.  The only option was to forgo so
sleep to get everything done and, as I become a bit of a grouch without sleep, I was stressing myself out.  Little Jackie reminded me that I really wanted to do everything and surely that was more important than sleep for a little while.  I was reminded how sleep didn’t figure during Christmas when I was a child!

What could your child self teach you?

Jackie Notman is an intuitive adviser and coach who works on an energetic level with individuals and businesses using tools such as Feng Shui, Numerology, Dowsing, Astrology and the Tarot.   This article is from her blog ‘Life – and everything else’ where you’ll find an eclectic mix of articles and information.

WANT TO PUBLISH THIS ARTICLE?

You have permission to publish this article as long as the tagline (above) with links is included and no changes are made to the article. A courtesy copy of your publication or link would be appreciated.

2 Comments on “A child’s wisdom”

  1. TR says:

    its mesmerizing………i never thought that our own self from the chidhood could be the most inspirational and motivating charcater !!!
    i really liked the sleeping part too….your article reminded of my sleepless nights when sleeping and getting rest was not something a child would even care about….


Leave a Reply

